top of page


1939- Present

 Beta Mu Lambda is the 155th chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. It was founded in Salisbury, NC and vicinity on August 21, 1939. According to Brother Howard W. Miller through an article in the October 1940 Sphinx magazine this is how Beta Mu Lambda began. Members of Beta Mu Lambda chapter feel that it is high time to let it be known that is really on the map. A year ago (1939) a group of Alpha men, some recent college graduates, others away from their home chapters, felt and acted on the desire to unite in a definite chapter, in order to continue their affiliation with Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity.

This chapter was to embrace the graduate Alpha men in Salisbury and Statesville, NC. In the light of this desire, a committee headed by Brother H.A. Day of Salisbury was selected to make contact with the General Organization towards the furtherance of our aim. A charter was granted us naming the chapter, Beta Mu Lambda. On August 21, 1939, the following brothers gathered at the home of Brother Day: F.D. White, H.A. Day, James Simpson, I.H. Miller, Jr., Howard W. Miller of Salisbury, and T.E. Allison, Jr, J.L. Hollowell, Rutherford, J. Leslie Smith and Troy Johnson of Statesville. Brother J.O. Ellis, Regional Director at that time, conducted the ceremonies. Also present were visiting brothers, J.K. Aggrey of Xi Chapter and J.W. Younge of Beta Gamma chapter. At this meeting, the charter members elected brothers F.D. White and H.W. Miller as delegates to the 1939 General Convention in New York City. The work of the chapter has moved on with the members having a great success in carrying out the ?Education For Citizenship Program?.


Our objective has been and shall continue to be embodied in the Preamble to our General Constitution. We have tried to take and uplift and advancement of the Negro in our community and the race at large. A year has passed (1940) since the founding of our chapter. During this time, Brother S.W. Lancaster has become connected with us. In observance of our First Anniversary,

The group entertained with a bridge luncheon, buffet style on Monday evening, September 22 at the home of Brother Simpson. The affair was enjoyed immensely by all.


Present officers and members of Beta Mu Lambda Chapter are: F.D. White, President; H.A. Day, Vice-President;James Simpson, Treasurer; I.H. Miller, Jr. , Recording and Corresponding Secretary; Rev. J.L. Smith, Chaplain; Howard W. Miller,Editor to the Sphinx; S.W. Lancaster, Rutherford, F.A. Toliver, Troy Johnson, T.E. Allison, Jr. and J.L. Hollowell. Brother Issac H. Miller, Jr. is believed to be the last charter member of Beta Mu Lambda to transition to Omega chapter. Brother Miller is the first chapter president.

Beta Mu Lambda in the 20th and 21st Centuries.

After a period of inactivity, the chapter was reactivated in 1998 under the leadership of Brother Lamont Foster, Sr.


Officers for the 1998-99 fraternal year are listed below:

Brother Lamont Foster, Sr. , President and Intake Coordinator

Brother Orlando Mitchell, Vice-President

Brother Chris Joiner, Recording Secretary and Director of Educational Activities

Brother Nakia Douglas, Corresponding Secretary and Associate Editor to the Sphinx

Brother Terrence Burley, Treasurer and Sgt-At-Arms

Brother Antoine Brisbon, Chaplain

Brother Bryant Norman, Historian

Brother Wilbert Sadler, Parliamentarian




Brother Rory Chandler served as chapter president in the years 1999-2000, 2000-2001

and 2001-2002. Brother Michael Duncan served as chapter president in 2002-2003 and 2003-2004. Brother Anthony Pass served as chapter president in the years 2004-2005, 2005-2006 and 2006-2007. Brother Travis Freeman also served as President from May 13, 2007 to June 9, 2007 succeeding Brother Pass.


Brother Orlando Mitchell was elected President in 2007-2008 and 2008-2009. Brother Ron Everett was elected President in 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. Bro. Everett was reelected President for 2011-2012. Brother Chandler was Vice-President under Bro. Everett in 2011-2012 when he resigned as President due to a job promotion.

Brother Rory Chandler served as President in 2011-2012, 2012-2013 and 2013-2014.

Brother Devane Woodruffserved as President in 2014-2015, 2015-2016 and 2016-2017.

Brother Theodis Chunn, Jr. served as President 2017-18, 2018-2019 and 2019-2020.

Brother Corderro Jones served as President 2020-2021 and 2021-2022. 

Brother Alkeemia Parker currently serves as President.



Beta Mu Lambda Program: Alpha Leadership Institute(Go to High School, Go to College)


The Alpha Leadership Institute began in February 2011 with Brother Lamont Moore being its first director and now spearheaded by Brother Howard McQuirter (Current Director of Educational Activities) 

bottom of page